Captain of the Black Stars, Andre Ayew, believes the penalty awarded to Ghana against South Africa was legitimate and the team could have got more than just one spot-kick.
Ghana beat South Africa a lone goal at the Cape Coast stadium on Sunday, with Andre Ayew stepping up in the 33rd minute to convert from the spot.
The Black Stars were awarded a penalty after Daniel Amartey went to ground in the penalty box following a challenge from Rushine De Reuck.
The decision the referee, Ndiaye Maguette, has been questioned many as they deemed the call as being soft.
However, the Black Stars skipper, Ayew says it was an obvious penalty for his side, and feels they should have been awarded more than just one penalty.
“It was a clear penalty on [Amartey]. In fact, we had chances to get more penalties and should have been given two more,” Ayew said when asked about the penalty incident during the post-match conference.
The Al-Sadd forward also added that Ghana needed to more after creating a lot of chances against Bafana Bafana at the Cape Coast Stadium.
“I think we had more clear chances. Yes, it was a tough game but we won this game fair and square. We could have scored more,” he concluded.
Victory against South Africa means Ghana finishes as group leader in Group G, and advance to the playoffs of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.
Listen to this article Andre Ayew, Ghana’s senior national team captain, has said th…